“Genie, you’re free.”

(Taken from a Tweet posted by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.)

As always, I’m a little late posting about this, but, I decided: now or never.

I’m only thirteen, so I know you, my dear readers, are going to say that I’m “too young” and I “don’t know” who Robin Williams really was. That’s not true.

Having older parents gives me wonderful benefits. Including seeing several films starring the late Robin Williams. Three of my favorites include: “Aladdin”, “Mrs. Doubtfire”, and “Good Morning, Vietnam.”

Williams’ passing has really struck America hard. He was an amazing actor, comedian, and person and it’s so awful that it had to happen. But because his passing has not only left us grieving, some people also believe that suicide wasn’t the way out. I couldn’t agree more. However, I know what it feels like to want to escape from that little bottle.

Again, I know what you’re saying: “you’re too young.” No. I’m not. Teens all over America are suffering from depression right now. According to save.org, there were 811,000 suicide attempts in the year 2004.

Robin William’s passing should be a wake-up-call for us all. We may not be able to fully help those who are considering the “easy” way out, but we can certainly know we’re here to help.

I hope you guys had a great weekend. Please take this small amount of information and turn it into something bigger. We all can make a difference even with the smallest of actions. Take care guys! And God bless!

Leave a Reply

