Who I Am Today

When I was first exposed to the event that changed my life, I was incredibly young. I only vaguely remember the day when my mom brought home the first book I ever learned to read: “Dick and Jane.” I was only three years old. Go aheead, make fun of me, but I promise, that was the book that made me who I am today.

George R. R. Martin once said: “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies… The man who never reads lives only one.” This is exactly how I feel. When I read, I travel. Whether it’s to Narnia to meet Aslan the Lion and the Pevencies or to England during the anarchy of the 12th century, I’m always traveling. Through books, I’ve gained friends, lost friends, traveled, saw, and lived. I’ve seen the Tribulation, the Holocaust, and the fall of Troy. I’ve met Hermione and Anne Frank. Without books, I would not be who I am today. Without the lives I’ve lived and the people that have befriended me and betreayed me, I wouldn’t have learned the lessons I need to survive in life.

I have always told my mom that I blamed her for how I am now. It is technically her fault. Ever since she brought home my first book and taught me how to read, I developed an addiction; an addiction  that not even the best rehab can fix. To be honest, though, I’m thankful. Without her, I wouldn’t have experienced all I have. Still, it’s to the books and their authors that I am most thankful. If the author who had written these books, if he hadn’t sat down and put their time and effort to putting their deepest thoughts on paper, my life would be so different now.

Ever since I was three years old, books and words have enveloped me in their warm embrace. I have always been intrigued by the words on a page that has the potential to lead a person into a whole different dimension. If it weren’t for the book I’ve read, the things I’ve seen, and the people I’ve met, I would be a totally different person. I’m proud of the fact that I have seen so much for a person of my age. I’m proud of the fact that I’m a reader. If I wasn’t, I would never be who I am today.

One thought on “Who I Am Today

Leave a Reply

