Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

“Books were only one type of receptacle where we stored a lot of things we were afraid we might forget. There is nothing magical in them at all. The magic is only in what books say, how they stitched the patches of the Universe together into one garment for us.”

In a world where books are illegal, and firemen create fire instead of ceasing it, Guy Montag discovers the power of the written word. Together, Guy and a retired college professor risks their lives to bring back the words that impact the world of today. What makes this book so special is that Bradbury creates a world that illustrates how bad off society would be without the impact of books in our lives. I mean, think about it. A world without books? How about no.

Another thing I really loved about this book was that it really brought my love of reading back to me. After witnessing a world without the books I hold dear to my heart, I realized that books are truly magnificent, including this one. So, as I walked alongside Mr. Montag as he fought against the rules of society, my adoration for words grew. Especially as I realized how powerful a stack of paper covered in words can be.

The only problem that I had with this book was that I felt it should have been longer, as every nerd feels about almost all of the great books they read. Still, Bradbury’s fantastic writing snatches you and doesn’t let you go until the very end, yet you’re still wishing for more.

Leave a Reply

