A Thousand Splendid Suns – Review

I remember first falling in love with Khaled Hosseini after reading The Kite Runner. It was an amazing book and made me fall in love with Khaled Hosseini’s beautiful writing. (Review: Here) When I found A
Thousand Splendid Suns 
in the school library last week, of course I grabbed it.

This book was a little disappointing at first. I couldn’t quite get my head wrapped around it. For most of the first and second parts of the book I wondered what Khaled’s purpose was in how he introduced the characters. Yet, as the story unfolded, it made perfect sense.

“A Thousand Splendid Suns” is a novel about two women’s fight for survival; in the light of war, famine, drama, and abuse. It begins as two women are introduced to the reader, both coming from the total opposite of places: one, from a city called Herat, A_Thousand_Splendid_Sunswhere she was raised by only her mother, and was known to all the people that knew her as a “harami”; the second, from a city where she was brought up by a loving family and Both end up in the same place. Together, they fight the battle of being a woman.

Still, this book didn’t just show me how women can inspire each other and motivate each other through life, but it also showed me the power of love and sacrifice. I learned that through pain, there is peace. Through sadness, there is happiness.

“A Thousand Splendid Suns” is a beautiful book. It’s inspiring and amazing. However, I rate it four stars because I honestly wished that it had a bit more. As said earlier, this book definitely disappointed me at first. The characters were a little complex, though I’m sure that without their complexity, the impact of this book wouldn’t be as great. Even though that was the case, the question of, “What is Khaled planning now?” honestly pushed me to read more to answer my question.

Rating:  4stars

I do recommend this book to anyone who really enjoys a complex story line and though-provoking endings. Nerds, it’s such a beautiful and heart-breaking story. But be aware guys, THIS ONE’S A TEAR-JERKER. I suggest setting a box of kleenex next to you before you read the last chapter.

If you have already read this book, definitely tell me how you like it in a comment below. I love book discussions!

Happy Reading!!!

8 thoughts on “A Thousand Splendid Suns – Review

  1. This is one of my favourite books of all time. I read this before the Kite Runner and thought the opposite to you. I loved this one and thought Kite Runner was slow, took me awhile to get into it, but both great books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

