August Book Wrap-Up!

Hey nerds! August is now past us and so I guess it’s time for a book wrap-up! In August, I read eight books. (Yes, you read that right.) Let’s just say that August was a good month for me. It was a great month for reading, laughter, and of course, tears. Overall I got a lot of reading done before school and life picked back up. Let’s get started shall we?


Books I Read Last Month: 

World Crash by Michael R. Worthington

Fall Of Giants by Ken Follett

The Woman In The Photograph by Dana Gynther

Paper Towns by John Green

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Every Day by David Levithan

Across Dreamlands by Lara Hassan


World Crash by Michael R. Worthington 

I won this book through Goodreads First Reads last month and I featured it as my first “Blind Date With A Book” (More coming soon!). I didn’t really like this book and it was kind of a let down for me. The ideasdownload
behind it were great. I could tell that Worthington put a good deal of thought into creating this novel, but it just didn’t do for me as other books I’ve read in the past have. This books begins as Sarah wakes up in the hospital and finds that an alien spacecraft is orbiting Earth, and has sent a cyber-virus and broke down the Internet and electricity. In this book, Sarah works with the government to try to fight the aliens and save Earth. As said before, the read isn’t that great, but the ideas are definitely there.

My rating:

download


Fall of Giants by Ken Follett

fall_of_giants_us_hardback_2010

Fall of Giants blew me away in this fantastic historical fiction novel. It was mind-blowingly amazing as it took me back in time to World War I. In this novel, Ken Follett created vivid pictures of the issues just a few years before the war, during the war, and post-war. It’s a great book, and I absolutely recommend for my history-loving book nerds to read it!

My rating: five-stars-rating


The Woman In the Photograph by Dana Gynther

This is another book that I won through Goodreads First Reads. the-woman-in-the-photograph-9781476731957_hr

I loved this book. It was gripping and definitely kept me hooked. I loved the pace and setting. The only problem I have with this book was that you kind of have to have some background in the French language (which, luckily, I have) in order to understand some of it. Still, the language wasn’t used very often so you could still understand what was going on.

I definitely recommend this to anyone who likes romance or art. This was a wonderful book and I enjoyed it immensely.

My rating: 4stars


Paper Towns by John Green51hgkNew+XL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I think after you read my book review on this book (here), you nerds know how I felt about this book. If you didn’t, I’m getting ready to tell you.

Paper Towns was magical, in every sense of the term. It really helped me view life differently and really try to find out more about the people who are around me. I absolutely adored this book. I recommend this book to anyone, whether you like romance novels, YA, or the classics, this is a book for everyone to read. The world would definitely be a different place if they did.

My rating: five-stars-rating


The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

download (3)

I felt like this book was a pretty good book. This book disappointed me, though, until about chapter 35. Then things got interesting. Still, it was a really good book and I do recommend it to anyone who really enjoys dystopian fiction
or sci-fi.

My rating: 4stars


A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

I’m pretty sure you guys have read my review on that by now. If you haven’t, check it out. A_Thousand_Splendid_Suns

“A Thousand Splendid Suns” is a beautiful book. It’s inspiring and amazing. However, I rate it four stars because I honestly wished that it had a bit more. As said earlier, this book definitely disappointed me at first. The characters were a little complex, though I’m sure that without their complexity, the impact of this book wouldn’t be as great. Even though that was the case, the question of, “What is Khaled planning now?” honestly pushed me to read more to answer my question.

I do recommend this book to anyone who really enjoys a complex story line and though-provoking endings. But be aware guys, THIS ONE’S A TEAR-JERKER. I suggest setting a box of Kleenex next to you as you read the last chapter.

My rating: 
4stars


Every Day by David Levithan

51i318LHixL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book actually wasn’t my favorite. I liked it, yes. Still, there was just something about it that kind of turned me off. I think one of the reasons was how fast the main character fell in love with Raven. I know, it sounds silly, I like romance, but how it was timed really threw me off. However, it was still a great book.

My rating: download


Across Dreamlands by Lara Hassan

I won this book from Goodreads First Reads…

25880995
…and I loved it. This book is full of poetry. Poetry about love, life, sadness, darkness, and prevailing through dark times. It’s painfully beautiful in a way that I can’t describe. I loved this book with a passion and I recommend it to any hopeless romantics, romantics, or people who just love poetry in general.

My rating:4stars


So August is a wrap! I read such a great variety of books this month and I regret nothing! If you nerds have read any of these books or plan on reading them, feel free to comment below and tell me some of your thoughts.

Happy reading! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

