The 5 Symptoms of Binge Reading

We’ve all been there.

Staying up all night just to finish “this chapter” or just to finish the book in general. Going through a good 5 or 6 books in a week. Sleeping all day after a two-week-long binge reading episode because we haven’t slept in only God knows how long.

We’ve all been there. 

There’s no cure, no way to ease the pain. The best thing to do is just ride the waves and let it all play out. But, what is binge reading?

Capture

Yet, when book nerds refer to binge reading, it usually goes like this:

Big-Bang-Theory-I-need-help

How do you know you’re having a binge reading episode?

Welp,  if you’re asking me, you’ve come to the right place.

Symptom #1: You haven’t slept in days. 

As a fellow binge reader, I totally understand the whole: “‘I need to finish this chapter before I fall asleep’ and then waking up on the floor 5 o’clock the next day with your book on the floor next to you'” thing. It happens.

Cutest-cat-gifs-sleep

Symptom #2: You haven’t stepped out of your room in a week. (Or longer.)  

Book nerds need two things to survive:

  1. Food
  2. Books

No people, no technology. Just those two things and we’re good. No joke. rapunzel-books

Symptom #3: Yet, despite the need to survive, you can’t remember the last time you even SAW food. 

I mean, who needs food anyway, right?

18hcqp0s604cbgif

Symptom #4: Although, when you did eat, you gulped it down so you could go back to reading. 

200_s

Symptom #5: Your family is highly concerned about your health. 

tumblr_mxbch1Y1Y71sc6j2oo2_250

So…

do you guys show any of these symptoms?

(By the way, nerds, add me on Goodreads here!)

Happy reading!! xoxo

2 thoughts on “The 5 Symptoms of Binge Reading

  1. I am not much of a reader…especially if it’s on the computer. I had to “binge read” “A Tale of Two Cities” in high school. It felt like hitting my head against a wall all day. I had 60 pages to get through, and I was reading at about one page per hour (it felt that way, anyway). I hated it like a smoker hates to run. [The book actually wasn’t terrible, in the end.]

    I binge video games til I conquer them and binge draw some weeks when creativity consumes me. It’s about the only time I feel creative, anymore. Now, I write more than I draw. But, my heart is in drawing.

    As for food, you can’t go too far without it. Even stationary brain activity eventually sends us looking for some. On binges, I may eat more or less than normal. Usually less because I am not moving my body. But, man, some days, binge writing requires a ton of food to keep the brain going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

