The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

This novel is set in France during World War II. It begins in Carriveau, where Vianne’s husband is sent to war. At the same time, her sister, Isabelle, is sent to Carriveau to live with Vianne to avoid trouble. Although, trouble is exactly what both Vianne and Isabelle find. 

I honestly had mixed feelings about this novel in the beginning. I enjoyed it, but at the same time, something was lacking. I wasn’t as connected to the characters, and I definitely wasn’t sucked into the story as I would have liked to be. At first, it was kind of a letdown. 

However, as the story went along, all the pieces of the puzzle came together. 

 

 This book is fabulous, and although I didn’t get exactly what I felt like I should, it was still a delight to read. It’s a tear-jerking story of the strength of women and perseverance. It shows how people hold on to other people to get through life. 

I kind of regret telling my English teacher that I didn’t enjoy reading it. (Yes, I said that. Sorry!!) To be honest, the whole novel made perfect sense one I reached the end. (And yes, I cried.) I also thoroughly enjoyed that it wasn’t too heavy on the romance. I mean, I love romance, but I need a break every once in a while.

Would I recommend this book? Absolutely. It’s definitely a story that needs to be shared. Although it was a tiny but slow, it’s so worth it!

My rating:  

 

If you nerds have already read this book or want to, let me know what you think of it in the comments

Happy reading!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

