Above by Isla Morley: A Review

UGH THERE IS SO MUCH TO SAY ABOUT THIS BOOK WITHOUT GIVING SPOILERS SO BARE WITH ME, K?

 

Okay, so this book was crazy. Really crazy. So, apparently a sixteen-year-old girl named Blythe Hallowell is kidnapped by a survivalist and is hidden in an abandoned missile silo. Seventeen years later, she escapes, and has to learn to survive Above.

 

ABOVE-provisional-cover

 

At first, I really enjoyed this book. It was action-packed and had a great writing style. The first part was just really great and I enjoyed it immensely.

Then she reaches Above and things went downhill from there.

Granted, I enjoyed this book, to a point. It was fun and interesting and it was very action-packed… In the beginning. As soon as Blythe reaches Above, it just wasn’t fun anymore. In fact, it was a total let-down.

tumblr_mxbch1Y1Y71sc6j2oo2_250

The idea of this book was there, but the execution fell flat. Personally, I feel like this book could have been cut in half. That so the first part wasn’t so underdeveloped and the reader had more time to get adjusted. I think that there was way too much that happened in this book.
Towards the end, it was hard for me to keep up with it because I had to remember minor details that was at the beginning of the book. In my opinion, this was because of the amount of events that occurred between the beginning and the end. There was just way too much.

Nerds, this book had so much potential! It’s so frustrating how this book is. I wanted to love this book so bad, but I just couldn’t.

My rating:

download

 

I debated rating this a four, but there’s so much that kept me from doing so. This book was just such a let-down and I wanted this book to be so much better. Honestly, I wouldn’t recommend this book. If it had reached its full potential, then yes, I would. Still, this book still had more to work on.

 


 

 

Announcement: 

Okay, so before I go, I decided to let you nerds know that I’m changing the URL of the site on December 4th. I’ve found that the current URL is actually quite difficult for people (even me) to remember. I haven’t quite decided to what yet, I have a few contenders but I though maybe I could get a few suggestions from you lovely nerds. Thanks, guys!

 

Happy reading!! xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

