Faking Normal: A Review

 

I stayed up until 2:36Am to finish this book and I don’t regret it.

I use the phrase “painfully beautiful” a lot. I guess I’m pretty lucky when it comes to the books I read. Almost all of them are absolutely fantastic. But this one… oh my gosh.15726915

Alexi has a secret, and she will tell no one. However, when Bodee, a.k.a. the “Kool-Aid kid” moves into her house after the death of his mom, things change for the both of them.

My heart hurts for Alexi, but it’s also swelled with love for her as well. I feel like this novel has such a strong message and I’ll never be able to shake it away from me. It’s one of those “feel good” books, that leave you smiling and squealing at the end, but it shows rape in one of its many forms (although, there’s only one definition), raw. It’s not romanticized, it’s shown how it is. I love that about this novel.

I cried through a lot of this. I’ll probably cry after I write this. I smiled. I laughed. I’m giving this novel 5 stars because it deserves it. Truthfully, it’s one of the best books I’ve read yet, and I’m glad I picked it up. I actually heard about it in the book club at my school, and although they spoiled it for me, I tried so hard to forget it so I could read this. I’m so glad I did. Yet, I’m so upset that I had to wait.

Ugh. You nerds have to read this. I’m totally heartbroken yet happy. I don’t even know how to explain it. I’m not even going to try. Just read this, okay? You’re not going to be disappointed. It’s too perfect to pass up.

My rating: wpid-images.png

 

The only problem I may have had with this book is the fact that I’d love to know what happened to Alexi after the end. Still, this book is fantastic and I definitely recommend it. Just make sure you keep some tissues nearby.

If you nerds have read this book, leave a comment below and let me know your thoughts about it. I’m really curious about what people thought.

Bye nerds! Happy reading!! ♥

Leave a Reply

