One Flew East, One Flew West, One Flew Over the Cukoo’s Nest – A Review

Well, that was an adventure.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is a novel narrated by a man called Chief as he tells his story about the many battles between McMurphy and the Nurse Ratched in an asylum.

At first, I had mixed feelings about this book. The excessive details and imagery in the very beginning turned me off almost immediately. It was a tad redundant, and it made it a little difficult to get into, which was a problem since it held so much key information. The writing style was unique, as well and I found it hard to get around it. It didn’t help much that it moved kind of slow. Until halfway through, I was pretty lost. Once the plot took off, though, my feelings changed.
Image result for one flew over the cuckoo's nest cover
Now to the good stuff:

First things first: Billy is a gift from heaven. I love his character so much. Read it. Just for him.

Second: This novel really brought to light a lot of heavy subjects that had to do with the mental asylums in the 60’s and 70’s. I have a high respect for that, as I’ve read other novels that didn’t really do the job.

Third: THESE. CHARACTERS. They are so well-written and well-introduced – it’s great. Kesey did a very well job in bringing them into the plot and introducing them to the reader. I also just have to say it’s great to read a book where the characters are complex and aren’t …well, good.

Fourth: It was just. So. Put together. I really enjoyed that. It was kind of a pain because I knew that almost every detail was key in the very beginning. Still, everything in this novel meant something and it was really nice how complex it was. I think that really added to the overall meaning of the novel.

I wish I could have had the relationship with this book that I feel like I should have. Overall I enjoyed, but there were just moments that I just kind of wanted to put it down. Those great elements of this novel is what pulled me through (and the fact that I read this for English).

Oh, wow, I still have mixed feelings about this book.
But, seriously, I have to give this book credit where it’s due. This is such a good novel and I still recommend it. Once it really kicks off, it’s worth your time. Kesey did a really good job in writing this and I really enjoyed most of it. It had a few hang-ups, which is why I rated it what I did. But the rest is good! So, read it.

My Rating: IMG_0176

Leave a Reply

